Sewing Expo

Several weeks ago, I packed up my 9-month-old son and husband and headed to Michigan to visit my parents and attend the American Sewing Expo.  My parent’s house is about 10 minutes from the expo center and they are enthusiastic babysitters, so I thought I would take the weekend for myself to learn some sewing related stuff.  I didn’t know what to expect, but I can tell you, I was pleasantly surprised.  Gertie mentioned on her blog that she would be teaching some seminars and asked if there were other sewing enthusiasts on the world wide web that attended sewing expos and what their feelings were on the matter.  I read through many of the comments, because, not knowing what I was in for, I was anxious to hear everyone’s thoughts.  The two things that stuck out were, “sewing expos are what you make of them” and “the majority of the attendees tend to be ‘older'”  I took the former comment to heart and decided to make the best of the experience, no matter what, as I rarely get time to myself these days.

Image

I had the pleasure of taking Gertie’s class on blogs and, in retrospect, I wish I had taken her class on vintage patterns.  I also made sure to catch Sunni’s free “demos” (as they were called), one on the anatomy of the pencil skirt and one on wardrobe building.  I’m a big fan of Gertie and Sunni, both their style and their sewing skills and they were both excellent in their presentations.  All of the seminars I took were incredibly valuable and I learned more then I expected.  Despite the fact that some of the women teaching the seminars were older and their style and aesthetic were wildly different then mine, they all were incredible talented and had a lot of knowledge to offer.  I hope to attend again next year as there were several other classes I would have liked to take.

While my posting has hit a bit of rut, I have been sewing and I plan to take pictures and get them up soon.  I was thinking of making a wardrobe plan for the fall, but, I decided to amend those plans and instead focus on sewing with different textiles and tackling some basic skills such as sleeves, linings, and fitting.  I hope to make several knit pieces and finish up some garments I intended to sew for the summer.  I want to beef up my sewing skills so that, come spring, I can make a plan for a spring/summer 2013 wardrobe.  Right now I’m focusing on getting my son’s Halloween costume put together.  More on that soon!

Leave a Reply

