Perception

I finally got around to taking pictures of some of my latest garments the other day, after months of not being able to get in front of the camera.  I modified the sorbetto and made it into a little peplum top using a tutorial from four square walls.

It’s not a style that I would be typically drawn to if I was buying it off the rack, I think my torso is too long and it breaks up the middle of body in a weird way.  I lengthened it a bit and I quite like the way it turned out at the end of the day, and I’ve worn it more then once.

I brought home some vintage patterns courtesy of my mother-in-law when we were there for a visit about a month ago.  I’ve never worked with vintage patterns, but I like several of them so I might have to give it a try.  They’re all a little small, bust 32 and waist 25, so I’ll also have to try my hand at grading.  It’s something that I’ve wanted to learn how to do, so I’m looking forward to learning.

What I find most shocking about vintage patterns (and many contemporary patterns) is the sizing.  At bust 32 and waist 25 1/2 you’re a size 12.  If you were to find those measurements in a contemporary RTW garment, it would probably be a -4.  All joking aside, they had a snippet on the Afternoon Shift awhile ago about “vanity” sizing and how much garment size have been manipulated by the market over the years.  A size 12 in the 40’s became a size 8 in the 70’s, which became a size 4 in the 90’s.  I would wager that sizes have been reduced since then, and, what was a size 4 in the 90’s has become a 2 or 0 now.  Apparently, the idea is, if the consumer is able to fit into a smaller size then what they would normally wear, they’re more likely to buy that particular garment.

The social scientists explained the findings with another experiment.  Two different test groups were given a box of cookies.  The cookies were the same size, but one labeled them as being “medium” sized and the other was labeled as “small”.  You can guess where this is going, the group that had “small” cookies ate more, while the group with the “medium” cookies resisted.  It’s amazing how a label can manipulate our perception of something so simple.

Leave a Reply

